K. Iris Delaney

About the Author:

K. Iris Delaney is a virtual character. She is a pen name or pseudonym.

Iris Delaney is a renowned child psychologist, doting mother, and children’s educational book author. Iris’ unique background and education have uniquely prepared her to understand what developing children need to nurture their creativity and allow them to develop into caring, responsible adults.

Karen Iris Delaney was born November 12, 1964 in Visalia, California. She was the fifth of six children and her father was a sociologist and her mother was a nuclear physicist. She grew up in a highly educated environment with 5 active and energetic siblings. Somewhat bored with non-urban lifestyle, she developed a creative outlet in writing children's stories. In middle school, her best friend was named Karen and she started going by Iris to distinguish between them. Thereafter, everyone knew her as Iris Delaney.

After graduating from high school in 1982, she received a full ride scholarship to Pomona College, a private liberal arts college in Claremont, California featuring none other than David Foster Wallace as the Roy E. Disney Professor of Creative Writing and Professor of English. She loved reading and writing all kinds of books. Upon graduating from Pomona College in 1986, she was accepted to Stanford University where she studied Development Psychology and received her PhD in Childhood Psychology and Education in 1991. Shortly thereafter she established a private practice near San Francisco where she works with trouble children. While studying at Stanford, she met her husband, Joshua Renquist, and was married in 1990. Joshua is an Organizational Behavior Scientist and works with human resource departments to help them improve motivation and establish effective reward systems. Joshua and Iris have three children who they adore.

Contact her at

About the Books:

Books Written – All Part of the Virtutales Series:

  • Ambition

  • Creativity

  • Humor

  • Accountability

  • Forgiveness

  • Industry

  • Charity

  • Frugality

  • Integrity

  • Confidence

  • Generosity

  • Justice

  • Cooperation

  • Gratitude

  • Kindness

  • Courage

  • Humility

  • Mercy

  • Obedience

  • Purity

  • Tolerance

  • Patience

  • Respect

  • Wisdom

  • Politeness

  • Service



The Virtutales Series are educational books designed for parents to read to their children starting at around 2 years old. The books each come with the music and lyrics and are filled with different educational stimuli. The books were created to help young children learn concepts quickly in a fun and stimulating way. While each book focuses on a specific virtue, all the books teach number, the alphabet, shapes, colors and many other concepts.