The Aberrations Series


Frederick L York

About the Author:

Frederick L. York is a virtual character. He is a pen name or pseudonym.

Frederick York is an Alaska cattle rancher, part time school teacher and exhilarating science fiction author. With a heritage deeply rooted in historic England, Frederick has always loved literature and you can see it in his writings that are filled with enthusiasm, amazement, and exploration of new ideas and worlds.

Frederick L. York was born on June 24, 1971 in Mitchell, South Dakota to John Richard York and his with Wilimena. John was a dairy farmer and part time rancher and his mother was the local elementary school principal. The York family originated in England in the county of Yorkshire which is the largest county in norther England. His heritage includes the House of York which was and English royal dynasty from 1461 to 1485. His ancestors migrated to Virginia in 1635. At the age of three, Frederick began pre-school and loved to read and write. During his high school years he became quite known for his ability to put together and intriguing story. In 1988, he attended Princeton University and would stay there through graduate school where he received his PhD in Molecular Anatomy. After working for a few years at Johnson and Johnson, Frederick yearned for the similar life he knew growing up. He married a young lady, Ashley Johnson, who shared his dreams in 1995 and in 1998 relocated to Willow, Alaska where he purchase a small ranch and began his career as an author of science fiction books. To get more involved in his community, Frederick became a local high school teacher at the prodding of his wife and neighbors and now he loves it. Frederick spends his time with raising kids and cows and writing books.

Contact him at

About the Books:

Books Written – All Part of the Aberrations Series:

  • The Aberrations – preparing for publication

  • Abeyance – preparing for publication

  • The Shade – in production

  • The Nightmares – in production

  • Similarity – in production


The Aberrations Series follows an active high school student, Amelia, who develops some unique talents while participating in her fencing club and being actively involved in various governmental activist events at school. These talents or powers don’t go unnoticed and soon others are trying to vie for her attentions and trying to use her powers for their own nefarious endeavors. Soon many are discovered to possess “powers” and the government and private forces converge to search out any “special” people and discover what they can do.